Home Community

Need help for SEPIC Converter

Author Topic: Need help for SEPIC Converter  (Read 1639 times)

samson.bunty1986

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Need help for SEPIC Converter
« on: April 17, 2012, 02:45:08 PM »
Hi all,

I have designed Sepic converter which can give output 24V,2.5A. In simulation am getting all correct values.  I made PCB with that circuit. But now when i connect load my ouput voltage drastically dropping to 8V. Kindly help me out from this

Thanks in Advance

Electronics-Lab.com Community

Need help for SEPIC Converter
« on: April 17, 2012, 02:45:08 PM »

Hero999

  • Global Moderator
  • Electronics God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2585
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 02:36:28 AM »
Apart from the fact, the circuit is wrong, you need to change C1 from an electrolytic to ceramic capacitor.
I do not answer private messages asking for help because no one else can: benefit from advice I may give or correct me if I'm wrong.

Please ask on the open forum if you have a question: if I know the answer, I'll be happy to help.

samson.bunty1986

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 04:14:44 AM »
Here is my circuit. How can you say my circuit is wrong?? Please suggest me..

Thanks in advance


Hero999

  • Global Moderator
  • Electronics God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2585
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2012, 07:02:30 AM »
Good, you've realised you won't get any help, unless you give enough information.

Are you sure the simulation is accurate?

Have you assumed ideal components?

What about the PCB (which again you've not posted so we don't know)? Is it correct. Have you followed the layout recommendations of the SMPS IC manufacturer?
I do not answer private messages asking for help because no one else can: benefit from advice I may give or correct me if I'm wrong.

Please ask on the open forum if you have a question: if I know the answer, I'll be happy to help.

samson.bunty1986

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2012, 07:20:37 AM »
Hi Hero,

Thanks for you reply.

In LT Spice i hve checked.. it is accurate. But now on PCB am not getting.

Kindly suggest me about the Layout recomendation. I hope evry thing i made.

Regards,
Samson

Hero999

  • Global Moderator
  • Electronics God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2585
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2012, 07:37:53 AM »
In LT Spice i hve checked.. it is accurate. But now on PCB am not getting.
What I meant was are you sure the models used are accurate?

For example, have you included the ESR of the inductors and capacitors? If the the answer is no, then your simulation is wrong.
I do not answer private messages asking for help because no one else can: benefit from advice I may give or correct me if I'm wrong.

Please ask on the open forum if you have a question: if I know the answer, I'll be happy to help.

samson.bunty1986

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2012, 08:56:32 AM »
Ya..i have used all the parameters in simulation. The same components  used on PCB also.

Hero999

  • Global Moderator
  • Electronics God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2585
    • View Profile
Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2012, 06:30:54 PM »
How are we supposed to help you with the #pcb when you haven't posted the layout or a photograph?

Is the PCB layout similar to that given on the datasheet?
I do not answer private messages asking for help because no one else can: benefit from advice I may give or correct me if I'm wrong.

Please ask on the open forum if you have a question: if I know the answer, I'll be happy to help.

Electronics-Lab.com Community

Re: Need help for SEPIC Converter
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2012, 06:30:54 PM »