Electronics-Lab.com Community

4N25 Schematic check

Hey guys.

I plan on controlling 2 fans, 1 Intake and 1 exhaust, for cooling in a computer case. I want to have one DPST switch that when in one position will cause an 8v (eventually a temperature controlled circuit instead) to power only the Intake fan and when in the second position, both fans will receive a full 12v.

I decided to use 4N25 optoisolaters simply because it would isolate the 2 fans completely but I've never used something like this before.

I made this schematic in Circuitmaker2000 and it seems to work on there but I really have no idea what the tolerances of this circuit would be or if maybe I'm doing something wrong.

fan_control_2.JPG

If you guys have any suggestions, please lemme know.

Well see, thats why I had to come here to ask. I can't make sense of anything on the datasheet as far as limits goes. I'm just not into the lingo :(

The fans will probably be drawing no more then 1.5 amps total (the exhaust will be 2 high cfm fans) and I'm really not sure if that will burn up the chips, which means I'd need to find a high current version of the 4N25.

I really don't understand what the optoisolators are for. Isolating the fans? Isolating them from what, or isolating what from them? If you were using the output of some sensitive IC to drive the fans, then I could see it, but a simple switch does not need isolation from the fans, nor do the fans need isolation from the switch!

Get rid of the optoisolators, and use the switch to switch the intake fan between the 8v source and the 12v source. Don't make things more complicated than they need to be.

BTW, all of the computer case fans I have around here have a current draw of 0.1 A or so. Much less than what you estimated. Check the labels of your fans; the current should be printed on it.

It is always a good idea to use an optoisolator when connecting a device capable of EMF to a computer.