Electronics-Lab.com Community

knight rider led modifications????

Hi, I'm kinda new at this but very enthusiastic about learning so please be patient..
I have built a knight rider led flashing light. Instead of the led's I have hooked up 12 volt relays to run 12 volt lights of course. Will the type of relays that mount on a circuit board carry 12 volt? Is there any way to modify the speed of this flasher by a variable resistor of some sort? And how would I make it so I could get power from my parking lights ( 12 volt ) without burning up the IC? I have tried it as it is and the ic gets very hot... Would just a resistor limit the flow of power from 12 to 6 or 9 volt?
Thanks , Jamie

New,
Which circuit did you build?
Is it the one in our Projects Section, titled "Knightrider Lights for Model Cars", that uses a 4017 counter chip?
If you connected relays without using anti-spike diodes across them, then you probably blew that chip. Besides, the 4017 doesn't have enough current from its outputs to directly drive relays. It can drive transistors that have a series resistor to their bases, and the transistors drive the relays that have diodes across them.

If you can tell us the spacifications of your 12V relays and the current rating of your lights then we can determine whether your relay is suitable, and we can select a suitable transistor for you.

As audioguru has suggested, you should post the specs for the 12V relays. Also, what are you using for a power source?
Right off, I do not see diodes across the relay coils to protect the chip against spiking when the relay activates. It is also not a good idea to connect a chip directly to the base of a transistor.

MP

New,
Your circuit is not a Knightrider, it is a simple chaser. The lights in a Knightrider go back and forth, counting forward and then reverse.