Electronics-Lab.com Community

Beginner Question about Ohm's Law Thanks!

Guest OhmsLaw

Guest OhmsLaw

Hi,

I'm a newbie to electronics and I'm confused about Ohm's Law especiallt about Resistors. A resistor limits current, but the voltage stays the same.  So when you make a circuit with a 9V battery and resistors  ( Just in Theory)
for example so it would be 9 Ohms x 1 A = 9V
                              and or  1 Ohms x 9 A = 9V

So how does a voltage divider work?
because I thought that resistors only limit current
??? ??? ???

Thanks you very much for clearing out the confusion

The picture is a simple battery connected across two resistors in series, as you describe.

The first thing to understand is that the current is the same everywhere in the loop. There's nowhere for current to leave the circuit, so the current is the same at every point around it. I've labelled it I.

The second thing to know is that the total resistance of the two resistors in series is the sum of their individual resitances. That is, R1 + R2.

We can use Ohm's law to find out I. Since we know the battery's voltage, and we know the total resistance that this battery is pushing current through, we can work out the current I through those resistances:

I = Vs / (R1 + R2)

Now that we know the current I, we can work out what voltages will appear across the two resistances, again with Ohm's law:

VR1 = I * R1
VR2 = I * R2

Play with some numbers: Let's say Vs (battery voltage) is 9V, R1 = 1kOhm and R2 = 2kOhm.

I = 9V / (1000 + 2000) = 3mA

VR1 = 3mA * 1000 = 3V
VR2 = 3mA * 2000 = 6V

The sum of the two voltages across the resistors VR1 + VR2 (that you can measure to prove this empirically) will always be 9V, regardless of the resitances used.