Electronics-Lab.com Community

electronics beginner - advice

helluvawreck

Hi, I'm helluvawreck,
I'm a part owner of a manufacturing plant and do all of the engineering and maintenance on our machinery. I also have a machine shop in the plant and build some special machines. I have taught myself electrical controls over the years and maintain the elctrical controls of our machinery as well as build some control boxes to replace worn out controls on older machines or to control a machine that I built. I have some experience with plc's and am involved trying to learn these inside out. I am currently building a fairly complicated simulator to help me learn that is complete with inverters, motors, sensors, encoders, and electro pneumatics.
When it comes to electronics, I do not know it but I have a keen sense and desire to learn it. I have purchased the art of electronics, the student manual for it, and Gibilisco's Teach Yourself Electricity and Electronics. I also have a complete set of old Heathkit electronics courses. I have a deep desire to learn electronics because I have some machines that I want to build and I want to know how to "really" control them with computers and electronics. I hope that I can learn from this community and also contribute eventually. I may ask some stupid questions and I don't want to be a burden so please bear with me as I learn the ropes.