Electronics-Lab.com Community

Infrared Receiver

Axle

Hi,

Im relatively new to electronics and i am hoping that someone can assist me. Ive built a simple infrared reciever circuit that flashes a LED when a remote is pointed at the receiver. Im using a photodiode connected to a single transistor.

While there are several circuits available for download, im looking to build one from scratch and better my understanding of transistors. Ive looked around but the answers are still eluding me...
I just need a nudge in the right direction and ill do some research from there.

I have 2 questions:

1. How do i extend the range of the circuit?
I have tried using a darlington connection to increase the current amplification i get from the photodiode but the range has not improved.

2. Im looking for the LED to flash at a constant brightness whether or not im close to the photodiode or 20cm away. Can this be done simply?
From my understanding of how photodiodes operate, the more infrared light it recieves the higher the current. In my little amplifier the LED is ultra bright at close ranges and barely visible further away.

Hope someone has some ideas...
Thanks

Hi Axle,
Welcome to our forum. ;D
You didn't attach the schematic of your circuits so it is difficult to see how you connected them.

A photo-diode can be revese-biased with a voltage through a high-value resistor and doesn't conduct without IR radiation. With IR radiation on it then it conducts (in reverse the current is called leakage current) and creates a voltage drop across the resistor. An amplifier circuit is needed for it with a high input resistance, usually using an opamp.

A photo-diode can also have no bias voltage and then it is used as a tiny solar cell, creating a tiny voltage when IR radiates on it. Then it is amplified.

The IR photo-diode needs a filter to block light from activating and saturating it.