Electronics-Lab.com Community

Audioguru's Electronic Stethoscope Help

jessbussert

Hi folks,

I'm a half deaf nursing student with a smidgen of electronics knowledge.  I just breadboarded Audioguru's Electronic Stethoscope project and am having a few problems with it.  I originally found the schematic here:

http://www.aaroncake.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5923

My problem is that, while I'm getting output, the gain is far too low to be usable.  I've rechecked my connections and components and am pretty sure I've got things all in the right places.  I originally questioned whether or not I was using the right kind of mic, but I think I've answered that question as well.

Can anyone look over the schematic and suggest components that I can replace in order to boost the gain?  Or, alternatively, offer some points on the circuit to test for voltages, resistances, and whatnot to help confirm that I've built the thing properly?

Thanks in advance for the help!
Jessica

I had the chance to try your proposed fix last night.  Unfortunately, the addition of the cap only produced a crackly buzz and no other audio.  When I removed the cap, the quiet operation from before resumed.

Any ideas?  (I hope I'm not doing something stupid here...)

Thanks,
Jessica

If your circuit produces a buzz then maybe it has unshielded long wires on a breadboard that pick up mains hum.
The circuit should be built compactly on a pcb or on stripboard and shielded audio cable must be used to connect to the microphone.

Try the LM386 amplifier with the new 10uF capacitor and the volume control disconnected.
It should not produce a buzz but might produce a little hiss.

Then add the volume control without opamps U1.

Then add opamps U1 without the microphone.

Then you will see where the buzz comes from.