Electronics-Lab.com Community

Automatic Fan Controller - Help (w/ relay?) Please!

abrodt

(had trouble posting first time, hope this isn't a duplicate!)

Hi all,

I am trying to build an automatic fan controller for my parent's a/v cabinet.  Here is the link - http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/motor_light/007/index.html

I have attached pictures of my parts list (all from Digi Key) and what I did.

I am new to this but I believe I am having trouble getting the relay to activate.  I have turned the potentiometer all the way to either side, but it doesn't trigger (I have an LED hooked up to both outputs from the relay to test it so I know whether it is switching or not).  The one hooked up to the output that works when switch is not activated is staying on; I can't get it to switch to the other LED.  Anyways, this is my second try.  My first was more compact and was hard to troubleshoot with wires all over the place, so I did this second one way spaced out and as similar as I could to the given schematic so I couldn't confuse myself but I am having the same problem.  I can't figure it out.
Any help is greatly appreciated!  I really want to get this thing working!  Oh and if it helps at all to know, the LED built into the circuit is lighting.

Thanks in advance,
Adam

hmm okay apparently I can't attach a word document, so here is the parts list (all from digikey.com)-

Part Number
BC2314-ND - thermistor
SP043-100K-ND - potentiometer
497-1554-5-ND - op amp
P2N2222AGOS-ND - transistor
1N4001RLGOSCT-ND - diode
PB892-ND - relay
1.0KW-10-ND
P4.7KW-3BK-ND
1.8KW-10-ND
P10KW-3BK-ND
15KW-2-ND
150KW-1-ND
120KW-1-ND
180KW-1-ND
220KW-1-ND
91KW-1-ND
478-5086-ND - capacitor

the unlabeled ones are resistors (yes, some extra values are thrown in so I could adjust the hysterisis)
and the only part missing is the 10uF capacitor since I already had one.

post-52195-14279144185142_thumb.jpg

post-52195-14279144185796_thumb.jpg