Electronics-Lab.com Community

5 x 555Timers

Hi

I am working on a project which needs 5 timers.
First, please see the flow chart.
Next, the time graph for better understanding my requirement.
Finally, the proposed schematic.

I shall appreciate, valued suggestions to finalize my project.

By the way, being a hobbyist, I have limited knowledge of electronics.

Thanks.

post-54741-14279144202885_thumb.jpg

post-54741-14279144203306_thumb.gif

post-54741-14279144203675_thumb.gif

I have a couple of suggestions:

If you must use the old 555 timer, opt for the NE556, which has two in one package.

I would suggest an alternative to the old 555 timer - sort of project can be simplified using a microcontroller making it possible to reduced the entire project to a single 8 pin DIL and a few transistors or another driver IC to drive the relays.

Other than a microcontroller, I was going to suggest the CD4069 which can be used to make three monostables per chip (two ICs) but then I realised that the output drive is pathetic so additional driver transistors would be required.

I still recommend the microcontroller, buy a programmer (here's a good supplier: http://www.piccircuit.com/) and check out the following tutorial sites:

http://www.gooligum.com.au/tut_baseline.html - deals with the baseline (very cheap) PICs.
http://www.winpicprog.co.uk/pic_tutorial.htm - another good site.

I'm currently learning about MCUs and I think the time you would spend, designing a PCB for and assembling the complicated project would be better invested in learning new skills, such as working with PICs.