Electronics-Lab.com Community

IR Question

vbSteve

Hi,

I'm new to electronics, well new, I mean I know the basic theory of electricity. You guys don't mind if I ask noob questions here not? I'm actually better at coding in Visual C++ and Visual Basic :)

I'd like to know what influence an IR beam has on a photodiode, a diode with 3 pins.

I'd like to light a green LED whenever the IR receiver receives. I have other intentions with it, but I guess this is the simple way of explaining.

Eventually it will be used in a computer controlled doorlock, where when the IR beam is established, it returns "1" (= "closed/connected") to the parallel port.

So what do I need to do in order to light the LED. Nothing to fancy stuff please. I search the net, but there is just so little information about it (Or maybe i was looking at the wrong sites)

Here is image that might help:
irbeam.jpg

Thanks in advance.

Hi vbSteve,