Electronics-Lab.com Community

pulse generator

streets97f

I building a pulse generator in an attempt to mimic the speed sensor on my car. (The speed sensor just generate pulses based on the rate of the turning transmission axle.)

Here is the circuit i'm using:
http://www.electronics.50g.com/cpg.htm

I hooked up a 9v batt. to it and it feels like the 2n2222 is getting hot. I'm worried that the car ECU might draw too much current for the transistors. Can anyone suggest higher current substitutes for the 2n2222 and 2n2907A trans.
I'm really a novice and would appreciate and suggestions.

Hi Streets,
Welcome to our forum. ;D
The 2N2222 shouldn't get hot in that circuit. It would if its collector and emitter wires were reversed. Look-up its datasheet's pic of it at www.datasheetarchives.com .

Your car's ECU could be damaged if your circuit feeds too much voltage to it. The ECU might have a max input voltage rating of only 5V.

Well i noticed as i i adjust the variable resistor past a certain threshold the circuit just puts out a continual voltage (6.8v and up) and the 2n2222 and the 50 ohm resistor get hot, but when backed down, the pulsing resumes and all is fine.

Yes the ECU wants 5v. My understanding is that the var. resistor is there to adjust the voltage. If i choose a 12v source, can i adjust it to 5v?

There is no reason why this circuit won't work at 5V, I've used this sort of circuit down to 3V before. I would recommend using some easier to build and more predictable like a NE555 timer.

Well i noticed as i i adjust the variable resistor past a certain threshold the circuit just puts out a continual voltage (6.8v and up) and the 2n2222 and the 50 ohm resistor get hot, but when backed down, the pulsing resumes and all is fine.

Then don't change the variable resistor as much. Don't you have the 1M resistor in series with the variable resistor?