Electronics-Lab.com Community

Power Supply and battery life

rbrainard

Ok, to start I would like to mention that I am VERY new to building circuits. Now that that is out of the way, I have some questions for anyone interested.

I am planning on building the step counter project http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/misc/007/

My first question is how can you estimate how long the battery for this project will last? Is there a formula or is my best bet to turn it on and see?

My second question has a little less to do directly with the project. I have noticed a lot of the ICs that everyone used specify using 5/10/15V. Now, suppose I want to make a project operate on battery power. How does one find a battery that is compact and can supply 5V? I want my projects to be small but I can't think of any battery combinations that add up to 5V. Is there a small power inverter I can create?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Ryan

Hi Ryan,
Welcome to our forum.

To calculate battery life you need to know how much current that a circuit is drawing. That counter project uses ordinary Cmos ICs that draw nearly zero current. But its LED display draws a huge current. You must figure how long the display will be lighted.
A good site for battery info is www.energizer.com and click on Technical Info at the top right. You will see on the datasheets how a battery cell's voltage drops with use and how a very expensive AA Lithium cell works much better than a cheap AA Alkaline cell.

Ordinary Cmos 4xxx ICs are spec'd with operating voltages of 5V, 10V and 15V but are guaranteed to work from 3.0V to 18V. You certainly don't need 5.0V for them like old 74xx TTL ICs needed.
High-speed Cmos 74HCxx ICs are guaranteed to work with a supply voltage from 2.0V to 7V. I have them in some of my projects and they work fine with a supply voltage less than 1.24V.