Electronics-Lab.com Community

Bass Extender

Are you thinking about getting a subwoofer and amplifier for it to add more deep bass to your sound system?
Years ago I wasn't satisfied with the "ordinary" bass output from my sound system at home that uses pretty good manufactured speakers with 8" woofers and some speakers that I made myself with 8" woofers.
So I designed a circuit that boosts the very low frequency bass frequencies by using a 2nd order Sallen-Key highpass filter with its Q set too high and it made my speakers sound like I have a powerful subwoofer. Of course my amplifier has enough extra power to provide the boost of about 10 times the normal bass power.

I've been using my circuit for nearly 20 years and was going to draw it up and post it here as a project, but recently Silicon Chip magazine published exactly the same circuit in their project. They even use the same TL074 low noise opamp I use.

Go to www.google.com and in the search bar enter Silicon Chip Bass Extender. The 1st link is to their entire article. ;D

post-1706-14279142520664_thumb.png

post-1706-14279142520831_thumb.png

Hi Ante,
I have Microsoft IE6 browser.
If I go directly to Silicon Chip Online to look at a project, I get only the 1st page then a begging-for-payment page like you get.
But if I enter the project's name in Google, then the 1st link is to the entire article. Many other people get complete SC projects from Google too. Your pc is too honest or your cookies taste lousy. ;D

Hi audioguru!

Do you have any pictures of your sound system?
Would be nice to see.