Electronics-Lab.com Community

Help please about the very simple power failure light project

mamand

Hi,

I am a student from Phillippines  and
i have seen the project about the simple power failure light.
One of the items is the capacitor right? Ahmm i'm just confuse about the specs of the capacitor.
In your link http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/motor_light/024/index.html they just put there C1 = 470uF
I'm confuse what would be the voltage of the capacitor. Please help me.. It is useful to our school..
Rep ASAP..

Thanxxx..

The 470uF capacitor has a 1N4742A zener diode across it. I looked up the datasheet for the zener diode on www.datasheetarchive.com and found out that it limits the voltage to 12V.
I would use a 25V capacitor for it to last a long time.

The 1.2k resistor does not have a power rating. It will have an average voltage of 204V across it and its current will be (204V/1200 ohms =) 170mA which will destroy the little zener diode. The resistor will heat with 35W.

So DO NOT power the circuit from 240VAC.

This is a totally silly idea.

Why hash a dangerous transformerless power supply together with a 12V relay when it would be cheaper, safer and more reliable to use a relay with a 240VAC coil in the first place?

9V is too lower voltage to power three white LEDs connected in series properly.

It isn't hard to design a circuit to trickle charge rechargeable the batteries when the mains power is on. The propper way of doing this is to use a transformer to charge the batteries via a constant current source (Tr1, R1, R2, D1 & D2) and use a transistor to switch on the LED when the mains power fails (Tr2, R3 & R4). A toggle switch can be added to disconnect the batteries when the device is not in use.

Ahmm. Thanx 4 your idea. I didnt know that it is a dangerous project.
Is your circuit tested? If it is, I would try to build your
circuit and use it rather than the other one.

It would be better if you indicate the specs of the parts of your circuit.