Electronics-Lab.com Community

Help for a school Physic Projet ''Bulding a FM transmitter ''

Vince147

Hi, i am a student at college in pure science and for my last session, i am doing a physic project who consist in building a FM transmitter and a FM receiver. I have chose one of the model in this website ''simple fm transmitter '' made by Izhar  Fareed (http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/rf/012/index.html) and i have some questions.

I want to change the microphone for a jack connection relied to an ipod. My objective is to play a song and heard it thru the speaker of the receiver. I am now at the first part of the project, witch is building the transmitter without the ipod. I had to change some value inside the circuit because the school didn't have the exact components.

Result, the transmitter works but the frequency i reach was around 45MHz instead of 100MHz.  I have tested to bring up the voltage from the source to observe witch effect that will create to the frequency in case of buying some part for nothing. Absolutely nothing, the only effect that made was raise up the amplitude of the wave form. Also, reduce the value of the resistance had the same effect and raise up is the opposite. Removing some condenser was nothing decisive at that moment.

I decided to go buy all the exact components who figure in the transmitter list description.

So now, i have all the exact components. I can believe that will work better then with the replacement i have to deal with at school.

So,to return to my main question, what i need to do if i want to put a jack connection link to my ipod? What component  i need to change or add to respect that high variation of signal?

Thx everyone. If you have some idea or commentary about the transmitter or the receiver, i will be happy to heard it. I have not choose  the type of receiver yet because i need to fix my transmitter before doing anything else.