Electronics-Lab.com Community

5 Watt Audio Amplifier

Im a student and I need to design an amplifier using an opamp, and I dont know what opamp to use. I have to deliver a 5 Watt output to an 8 Ohm load also with a flat electrical response of 20Hz - 18KHz. What IC should I use? LM383? 741? And Im not even sure how to start designing one of these as far as a circuit goes. Should I just start with a basic inverting configuration? Or non-inverting configuration? Is there a better configuration to use? Should I have to consider heat sink issues?

Hi Clemson,
I am sorry to correct those other guys, but the LM383, TDA2003 and TBA810 are all designed to deliver a fairly low output voltage to a 4 ohm speaker when supplied by a 12V car battery. To get 5W into 8 ohms requires a signal that is nearly 18V peak-to-peak. Since an amplifier is not perfect and has voltage losses, to output 18V p-p into 8 ohms it must operate with at least a 22V supply. That is too high for those amps.

I tried a search for a suitable amp on National Semi's newly redesigned website but got many errors. I asked for mono amps but got stereo ones, I asked for 5W/8 ohms but got 2W/4 ohms, etc.

Philips and ST Micro have many amp ICs. Try a search on their sites.

Hi Clemson,
Your 12V supply requirement certainly makes a big difference to the design of your amplifier. As I said earlier, to get 5W into 8 ohms, you need nearly 18V p-p, which is not normally available from a 12V supply.
Therefore you need two amplifiers, connected in a "bridge" configuration, where one amplifier drives one of the speaker wires and the other amp drives the other speaker wire with reversed polarity, effectively doubling the voltage across the speaker. Car radios do it this way.