Electronics-Lab.com Community

transistors

f4cepl4nt

I have a few questions about transistors, so here we go:

How can you tell how much current must flow between base-emitter to allow current to flow collector-emitter??

How can you tell which connector on a transistor is the emitter?

When a transistor gets a small current running through the base-emitter, which then allows current to flow collector-emitter, does the current through the base-emitter get cut off? Or does it keep flowing in tiny amounts?

One last one: If a transistor has a current flowing base-emitter which then allows current to flow collector-emitter, if the base-emitter current is turned off (by a switch or something) does the collector-emitter current turn off too? Or does it just need a kick start to get going then nothing can stop it except a switch or broken circuit?

I'm very sorry if my questions are unclear, I'm not very good at describing things  ;D

Again, thanks for all the help, you guys are life savers (no not the candy  8) )

using a multimeter but with some jiggling u can come to know about the terminals base,emitter ,collector.Emitter conducts most heavily.(Q2)

It is the base-emitter voltage which drives the transistor into saturation and makes the heavy current to flow from collector to emitter.(Q3)

It is the beta and internal mechanism of conduction in a transistor the answer to the
first question.

How can you tell how much current must flow between base-emitter to allow current to flow collector-emitter??

A transistor has a range of DC current gain. It is different between two transistors with the same part number and is different at different collector currents. The transistor's datasheet explains it all.

How can you tell which connector on a transistor is the emitter?

By looking at the labelled picure of it on its datasheet.